Two parallel series



A historical fiction and magical realism series that features an array of intercultural and captivating characters—from the surgeon protagonist to women pirates and Hawaiian magicians—that meet in a sizzling, historical context. If you like exotic locales, cringe-worthy explorations of early 19th-century medicine, and engaging, subtle fantasy, then this is exactly what you're looking for.

This historical fiction series features the compelling Jean Laffite, the fierce woman pirate Jebel Medusa and local antagonists that meet in New Orleans' early 1800's smaller Golden Age of Piracy. If you like a pirate merger of Sherlock Holmes and Robin Hood, then you’ll love this page-turning new series.

Full chronology

Combined and ordered in sequence of events


What happened in the Marshlands

A One Virtue and a Thousand Crimes short story (available in the free starter library)

A mother caught in he 1811 slave revolt will stop at nothing to save her teenage daughter.



The Adventuress

One Virtue and a Thousand Crimes 1 (novellette)

Smuggler Jean Laffite meets a stunning woman that may be the demise to his business.



The Ocean's Calling

One Virtue and a Thousand Crimes 2 (novel, coming soon)

Cosma Wolfe wants only to be a pirate. Can she?



The Delusion

Naupaka short story (available in free starter library)

Delmar stops in Mexico on his way to Hawaii and has a mind-bending experience.



Her Majesty’s Quill

Naupaka 1 (novella)

Delmar arrives in Honolulu and steps right into trouble.



String of Treason

Naupaka 2 (novella)

Delmar decides to go against the queen’s orders and free his captain friend.



In the Dancer’s Shade

Naupaka 3 (novella)

Delmar decides to follow the natives that have captured his missionary friend.



The Black Lily

Naupaka 4 (novella, coming soon)

Delmar receives strange letters signed with a black lily and must figure out what they mean before the queen does.